The Norway-Denmark sailing adventure – Klokkarvik.

Bergen came back to its normal self around midnight when the thick drops started to hit the deck. I laid in my bed listening to the rain and music draining from the night club. I could not see a thing through the hutch, where the city light created a halo. I imagined the sky heavy with clouds, grey in colour and uninviting.

IMG_20180909_162804454

As usual my first night on the boat was not a great one. My body and senses always needed to adjust to the surroundings, the sounds and smells. Later on I sleep like a baby, not much is distracting me. But the first night is always a small however familiar struggle.

IMG_20180910_091756308

Surprisingly the rain stopped in the morning, just after our breakfast and we were able to prepare for the first trip in a cold but dry weather. We were happy to be able to sail rather than motor and the 20 miles journey to Klokkarvik took us just over 5 hours as Bahia Sol was steadily cutting through the calm waters.

IMG_20180910_091546304

Usually my first sail is a disasters. I feel like I forgot everything I ever learnt and do not know how to steer. I am not sure where the wind is, how to adjust the sails, how much should I move the steering wheel to stay on course. This time however I let go and listened to my instincts. I scanned the surroundings and quickly understood the wind direction. I let the boat show me what she can do and after 10 minutes I felt I got it – the boat was listening to me, sailing the way I wanted her to and I felt it again – the love for sailing, the magic of the moment. Despite the rain which started the minute I found myself in the cockpit behind the steering wheel, I smiled broadly.

IMG_20180910_074321134_HDR

After a while the rain stopped and we could enjoy a smooth, rewarding sailing. We could even spot fragments of the blue sky, fighting off the clouds. When we arrived to Klokkarvik, I could not wait to go and explore, just to enjoy the opportunity of the weather with hardly any rain. Such a treat!

IMG_20180909_172856344

Marcin and I went for a long walk around, taking in harsh but beautiful landscape. There is something magical about Norway and its nature. Somehow it is making you feeling isolated, as you will not encounter many people along your way. But this is a calming feeling, allowing you to rest your soul, forget about the time and just simply enjoy the moment. Suddenly the sun came out from beyond the clouds and made the water looking like a liquid silver. We stopped and gasped in amazement. For this I am willing to sail in the rain for hours – just for this one moment of peace and happiness.

IMG_20180909_172303035

We got back to the boat just in time for the rain to hit again. This time I slept like a baby, listening to my friends singing and playing the guitar.

IMG_20180910_095208215

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.