Tags

, , , , , ,

This might sounds at least “crazy” but when dealing with a seasickness I consider myself lucky. In case you wonder, yes, I do get seasick and I always end up throwing up, not looking pretty at all. Something what I would compare to a big chunk of pumice stone is slowly growing inside my belly as soon as we leave the shore and the sea starts to swing the boat. Then I know what is coming.

I do not really need to tell anyone who have ever experienced the symptoms of this affliction how awful they are. We, the victims of Ms Seasickness, know that very well. There are people who suffer for a very long time, even during the whole trip. There are people who are taking medications to prevent these dreadful feelings. And there are people who, believe me or not, have never suffered. I am not one of them. But I am still the lucky one.

At first I cannot eat. The empty piece of stone is slowly growing inside me and my body starts to fight with the uneven world. I keep my eyes on the horizon in a weak attempt to lie to myself that nothing is really happening, that the world did not go insane and everything is as it should be. But my body, especially my labyrinth, know better. They are not going to be cheated.

The first time I had a seasickness I felt really bad. And “bad” is not a good word to describe how nasty it was. We were on our first sailing trip, sailing from Bergen in Norway to Shetland. The symptoms took me completely by surprise. Even now it is rather difficult for me to find something similarly malicious.

My first 10 to 12 hours during a sailing trip are being completely destroyed by the symptoms of this illness. I try to busy myself in any possible way I can and I try to avoid any unnecessary trips inside the boat. But there is a time when I must go down and loose the sign of the horizon. And this is a very difficult moment.

When I am back up I start drinking a lot, eating bread and some crackers and suddenly I am hanging from the boat, looking at blue/gray sea and I am ready to throw up. And I know that at this point I am almost done, that I am winning.

That my unhappy body will stop feeling unhappy and I say a firm goodbye to my pumice stone. That the rest of the trip will be free from any unwanted symptoms, and it does not matter what the sea will through at me. The seasickness is gone and dusted. And this is why I am considering myself a lucky person – I can adjust to unnatural situation on a boat very quickly, furthermore – the seasickness do not come back to me during the rest of the trip! And the rest of the trip is usually magical – worth losing few hours to suffering for the memorable memories!

