Tags

, , , , , ,

The distance between Shetland and Faroe Islands is similar. 

After two days on Shetland I was braving myself for another passage of 55 or more hours.

At this point I knew what to expect, I knew how the seasickness felt and what 4 or less hours of sleep, every 4 hours, could do to me. I knew how hard it is to keep the boat on the course, fighting against strong winds, and how not to lose my bearings when the boat and absolutely everything, including myself, is moving violently up and down, up and down, up and down… no break… up and down…

Kuba was hopeful. According to the weather forecast we should have good winds and the currents should help us getting out of Shetland and push in the right direction. The days should be sunny and the sea should be smooth and calm. Staying on the course supposed to be as easy as it can be, when the nature decides to cut you a slack. 

After 33 hours of sailing I knew I was ok.

The seasickness didn’t come back, I found my rhythm and was trying to sleep as much as I could, to kill the time and gather some strengths. The weather was absolutely beautiful. Clear blue sky, light wind and calm waters. After the first passage, with seasickness, rain in our faces, winds against us, this passage was a rare beauty. The landscape of empty sea did not change much, we did not see any other boats and I started to feel happy, taking in the hollow world surrounding us from every side.   

Life on a boat got its own rhythm.

We cooked, we slept, we steered, we cleaned. It’s incredible what kind of crap you eat, when sailing. Our favourite was rice bread and Nutella – the shot of energy delivered to your body the easiest way possible. We grew sick of the same music and I have finally dug out my MP3 player for a change. To no surprises everyone was suddenly relieved and happy with a change. Calming voice of Dido and energizing music by Alanis Morissette cut through the sea.

Doing long passages is tough on you.

Not only because of the weather and seasickness but because you are not able to leave the boat for many days. Sometimes it’s like being stuck at home and fighting a nasty flew. But everything changes when you go outside, sit in a cockpit and just let yourself be in the moment, absorb the feeling of freedom and simply enjoy. I felt lightheaded and happy, sitting outside, looking at the horizon and observing how Brego was effortlessly swallowing the distance.

This passage took us again about 55 hours.

We have arrived at Faroe Islands in the morning, bringing the sun with us. It was incredible to step out and feel unmoving ground under my feet again. Marcin K. made delicious dinner and Kuba and I went to explore the port area. As Faroe Islands are under Danish jurisdiction finding a shop which would sell alcohol was a rather tricky business. Luckily for us we have found a local pub, with Irish theme and could get our well-earned beers. Furthermore the WiFi in the pub was really good and together with a hot shower I felt I am back to civilization. For a couple of days at least.

Shetland Islands

Faroe Islands

